Town Board — Minutes, Dec. 8, 2011

December 8, 2011

A Special Meeting of the Town Board was held December 8, 2011 at 4:00 pm at the Town Hall.  Present were:  Supv. Thomas S. Hynes, Councilmen Gene Cronk, Edward Raeder, Allen Hinkley and Stephen Walker and 7 residents.

The meeting was called to discuss the renewed hamlet designation with residents within the Grand Gorge area and to discuss any other business that may come before the Board. Said residents includes Dennis & Joan Moore, Earl & Glenda Krom, Charles & Cherie Serrie (representing owner Lila Conro)

Residents questioned and expressed concerns with how the 1997 properties for inclusion were determined, no mailings in 1997 to notify property owners of inclusion, concerns with getting different answers from Delaware County Planning Board, Town Board and attorney and why wasn’t the 2011 renewal designation tabled until correct information was received regarding owners who requested to be omitted from the designated area, why property owners were denied being taken out when they requested it, stated the designations being unfair to property owners who have paid taxes for all these years by limiting what they can now do with their property when selling, questioned if the Town can now decide to exempt properties that DEP may be interested in purchasing and questioned what their next step should be.

The Board discussed how the area was originally chosen as a select number of acres were needed in each area.  Supv. Hynes will set up another meeting with owners and Nicole Franzese of the Delaware Planning Dept. and Atty. Kevin Young.

In other business, the Board discussed correspondence from a property owner on Fist-O-Funk Blvd. who would like to turn his property over to the Town.  The Board will search into the property further before making a decision.

Discussion took place on the large number of open building permits on file.

On motion of Gene Cronk second by Edward Raeder the meeting adjourned at 5:20 pm.



Diane Pickett, Town Clerk
Thomas S. Hynes, Supervisor
Gene Cronk, Councilman
Edward Raeder, Councilman
Allen Hinkley, Councilman
Stephen Walker, Councilman

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.